Roadtrip Hotel Reviews


Scott and I took a 22 day road trip from San Diego, California to Portland, Oregon to celebrate our 25th anniversary.  I scheduled many of these stays the night before we arrived.  This post is a review of all of the hotels we stayed in.

5/16/14 Marriott Del Mar, 11966 El Camino Real  San Diego  California  92130  – great staff, polite, helpful, nice shower with full coverage and good pressure, bath products good, lotion luxurious, fluffy bath towels, restaurant/bar with good variety of American food, pool area looked exotic with covered area and restaurant/bar availability

5/17/14 – 5/18/14 Courtyard Palm Desert, 74895 Frank Sinatra Drive  Palm Desert  California  92211 – friendly staff, very accommodating after I added another night’s stay, the front desk stopped the pizza delivery guy to make sure he was supposed to be there, nice little bistro with food and a small bar, pool area with misters because of the heat, bath products by Paul Mitchell, lemon-sage lotion smelled yummy, shower head was good, but water pressure was a little light, fluffy bath towels (First night was free with Marriott rewards)

5/19/14 Fairfield Inn Mission Viejo, 26328 Oso Parkway Mission Viejo  California  92691 – front desk staff was very polite, hotel had room with 2 double beds which are way to small for the two of us to sleep together, even though it’s really close to the highway the A/C was like white noise and keep the sounds from outside down

5/20/14 Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, 3231 Peninsula Road,  Oxnard,  California,  93035 – the first Hampton Inn that didn’t have the rooms connected to the hotel that I’ve been in, polite staff, friendly breakfast staff

5/21/14 Hampton Inn Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach, 1400 West Branch Street,  Arroyo Grande,  California,  93420 – has a Panera Bread sharing the parking lot, heard our neighbors upstairs and next door to us, actually had to call the front desk to ask the upstairs neighbors to stop stomping on the floor (it didn’t help), didn’t hear the road with the A/C on

5/22/14 Embassy Suites Monterey Bay-Seaside, 1441 Canyon Del Rey,  Seaside,  California,  93955 – A/C set in the 60’s but couldn’t have possibly been that cool in our room, beach within a few blocks, large area for breakfast and meals which we didn’t take advantage of, Chili’s in the same parking lot

5/23/14 Hilton Garden Inn Cupertino, 10741 North Wolfe Road,  Cupertino,  California,  95014 – the best shower with good pressure and a good shower head, A/C set in the 60’s but couldn’t have possibly been that cool in our room, pretty good meal at the restaurant, friendly staff, nice pool area that we used, washer/dryer available for $1.00 each along with a vending machine for detergent and dryer sheets for $1.00, small breakfast buffet for $12.95 (which we didn’t eat at), nice lobby, close to lots of dining options, hard uncomfortable bed

5/24/14-5/26/14  San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront, 1800 Old Bayshore Highway, Burlingame, California, 94010 – A/C is as cold as it says it is, absolutely no noise from the airport and we had a view of the runway, has a full-service Starbucks open to 4 PM, wonderful steak restaurant (highly recommend Hangar Steak), and large lobby bar, about 30 minutes from downtown, friendly and polite staff, one of the best hotels we stayed in on the trip

5/27/14 – 5/28/14 The Inn at Sugar Pine Ranch, 21250 State Hwy 120, Groveland, CA 95321 – you have to request a reservation and they will get back with your confirmation via email, we stayed in #9 with a queen-sized bed but a very tight bathroom, Elaine & Craig have owned the ranch for over a decade, lovely continental breakfast  with coffee delivered each morning, L’Occitane personal items in verbena were wonderful, they gave us a SPR coffee mug and a beautiful card for our anniversary, no TV or telephone (no problem!) but they do have a swimming pool, wifi available, I highly recommend a stay at SPR for peace and quiet


5/29/14 Hampton Inn, 4750 Valley West Blvd, Arcata, California,  95521 – paper-thin walls, doors that slam, very polite and helpful front desk, worn towels, would not recommend this hotel

5/30/14 – 5/31/14 TownPlace Suites Redding, 2180 Larkspur Lane, Redding, California 96002 – close to many restaurants and stores, outdoor pool, very friendly desk staff with recommendations for things to do while in town, great kitchen area with dishes, utensils, and cooking items,

6/1/14 Holiday Inn Express, 2430 South Sixth St, Klamath Falls,  Oregon  97601 -friendly staff, close to a few restaurants, but in a depressed (but safe) part of town

6/2/14 SpringHill Suites, 1389 Center Drive, Medford, Oregon 97501 – very friendly front desk staff, got a great recommendation for dinner, upgraded up to a king bed from 2 queen beds, growing area with a lot to offer for meals (recommend Bambu)

6/3/14 Courtyard, 3443 Hutton Street, Springfield, Oregon 97477 – friendly desk staff, long walk to some rooms, the best black-out curtains of all, close to many restaurants (recommend Hop Valley Brewing)

6/4/14 Hampton Inn, 510 Hawthorne Avenue SE,  Salem,  Oregon,  97301 – very friendly desk staff, let us check in 2 hours early, Extra Special Props for the thank you note congratulating us for achieving Silver Status in the Hilton Honors program, close to restaurants and shopping


6/5/14 Courtyard Portland Airport, 11550 NE Airport Way, Portland,  Oregon  97220 – we had a great driver come pick us up from the car rental location, friendly front desk let us check in 2 hours early, the hotel is under renovation and they are actively working between 9 AM and 4 PM, one of the workers tried to come into our room while we were there (with the Do Not Disturb sign on the door!) and thankfully we had our inside door bolt in place, our hotel room smelled like cigarette smoke (ICK!), the hotel assured me that their rooms are currently non-smoking but that patrons still sometimes smoke, you can hear some planes flying into the airport,  plugged sink drain, because of the smell of cigarette smoke and the renovation going on I can’t recommend this hotel, (Stay was free with Marriott rewards)


1 – Hang your curtains so they actually close.  If they don’t close, then the light comes in way too early!

2 – Curtains should not be blown around by the A/C.  See #1.

3 – Shower curtains should be long enough so that they actually keep the water inside the tub.

4 – Towels should be within the reach of a shower.

5 – The television should be able to be watched from bed. Most people visiting your hotel are there to sleep or to crash and want to watch TV from bed.

6 – Couples do not want to sleep in a double bed.  Move into the 21st century and at least get queen-sized beds.  Better yet, king-sized beds for couples.

7 – Clocks (smoke alarms, microwaves, etc.) should not be so bright that they light the whole room.  I was grateful for those clocks that we could lessen the brightness of.

8 – Make your light switches more obvious.  I walked into a bathroom that I couldn’t turn on the light switch because I couldn’t find it, however, I could find the fan.  They weren’t the same kind of switch.

9 – De-lime your shower head.  Your water pressure isn’t all that great.  Why do you want to make it worse?  By the way, those shower heads should be taller than 6 feet tall for taller people.

10 – Those little, itty-bitty squishy pillows?  Yeah, they are terrible!  Bring back full-sized pillows that are somewhere between so squishy that you head hits the mattress and a rock.  Thanks!

About sandysandmeyer

Lover of Jesus, Scott, my family, sea glass, eyeshadow, pretty toes, the stars & autumn.

What's your P.O.V. on this post?